top of page
Search
  • Maddy Suellentrop

Let's do this.

Updated: Nov 9, 2019

Today, I began my first two classes at Jönkoping University (see cheesy first day of school picture below). My coursework focuses on two things: supply chain management and project management/leadership. In Sweden, you start new classes every quarter instead of each semester so only 2 classes to worry about right now!

I arrived in Jönkoping about 2 1/2 weeks ago. Unfortunately, it was a rough start. Without going into detail, let's just say that I am fully equip to write a book on "My American Experience with the Swedish Healthcare System". In the ER waiting room, a very nice young woman and I discussed the pros/cons of their healthcare system versus that of the US. It was honestly fascinating. Luckily, everyone was VERY helpful, and I was able to start enjoying being abroad. These past weeks I spent most of my time at the "Kickoff" but that event deserves its own post. In my limited free time, I was able to check out some of the views.



The picture above is the city and Lake Vättern. My favorite activity is to grab a salad from the local grocery store and eat it by the lake. My fellow exchange students don't get why I love the water so much but they're from coastal cities in Europe, not Kansas. Below is another view from the dock overlooking Lake Vättern. I'm trying to enjoy the summer weather until the infamous Swedish fall weather comes rushing in...



41 views0 comments
bottom of page